Soundtrack: Bus from London to Cambridge

09/01/2009

I went to London again this weekend.  My friend Suz was in town for a 36 hour layover on her way to Africa.  YEAH!  More on that with photos soon.

Instead of train, I took the bus home.  It was cheaper (5 pounds) and fun because I got to see parts of London I haven’t seen (i.e., the Olympic stadium and village which are under construction for 2012).

The only catch is you must buy your ticket the day before.  I chose an 8 PM departure, but was ready to head home by 6PM.  So, I went to the ticket counter and they wanted 11 pounds to change my ticket (twice the original cost!).  No dice.

So, I walked right up to the bus driver, showed him my “ticket” (which is on my phone because it was sent via text message).  Our conversation went something like this:

Bus Driver:  You know dear, your ticket is for 22:30.  You’re two hours early.

Me:  I know.  I just can’t get used to military time.  Is there any way I can take this bus?

Bus Driver (smiling, cheerfully):  Where are you taking it?

Me:  To Cambridge.

Bus Driver:  OH REALLY!?  You want to take THIS BUS to Cambridge?

Me:  Yes, is that possible? Can I take it?

Bus Driver:  You really want to take it?

Me:  (realising my poor grammar choice…laughing)  Actually, no, I do not want to take this bus ANYWHERE!  There is no way I could drive it!  May I ride the bus to Cambridge?

Bus Driver:  OF COURSE you may ride it.  I couldn’t let you take it though!

I hopped on.  The soundtrack for our first hour weaving through London was classically hilarious:

  1. Bridge Over Troubled Water – Simon & Garfunkel
  2. Waiting for a Star to Fall – Boy Meets Girl (i dare you to deny wanting to sing along to this one.  i had delusions of the entire bus bursting out in song…which made me laugh to myself.  which made me think people think i am weird… oh well!)
  3. Wind Beneath My Wings – Bette  (sigh.)
  4. To the Moon and Back – Savage Garden (hellllo 1990s!)
  5. Pretty Woman- Roy Orbison
  6. News report on the Lockerbie Bomber.
  7. Heard it Through the Grapevine
  8. Kylie Minogue club mix.

It was then the magical hour of 7:30 when the sound on the bus is turned off.  The quiet was timed with our pulling onto the motorway and driving through the rolling hills of East Anglia.  Always nice to leave the city…

Leave a Reply

