Sunset: Nothing Gold Can Stay

09/11/2009

Caught the sunset at my favorite wheat field two weeks ago.  To get there, I ride the bike down a road about 1.5 miles from our house.  Then I turn right at the footpath/bridleway marked “Wimpole Way”.  This path is lined with blackberries and fences.

IMG_6979

I know there are probably lots of other wheat fields, but this one is my favorite because it’s the first one I stumbled upon.  I wandered down the Wimpole Way and gasped when it opened up with a clear path straight through it to the other side.  I ran as fast as I could.

IMG_6933

IMG_6925

IMG_6973

Sadly, the wheat/rye (I’m not quite sure what it was…) had been harvested since the last time I came.  This was the first sunny, warm evening since the fateful bike fainting day- when the 82 degree sun and cloudless sky lit up the wheat fields on my train ride home.  I am sad I missed this field in it’s full glory.

IMG_6958

I still managed to enjoy myself as I packed a snack of goat cheese, crackers and water.  I snagged a handfull of blackberries on my way into the field.  A little bit of recovered joy.  It was very peaceful.

IMG_6964

IMG_6959

Today, I returned for run to find my favorite field again changed.  The entire field was turned over- tilled up clods of dirt made passage impossible.  I had to go all the way around the edge.  Thinking it over, every time I’ve been there is something drastically different about it.  One time it had rained the night before and my  normal path was a rich, manure laden sludge which stuck to my shoes adding a good 2-3 pound ankle weight to my run.  Each time I’ve been there, it is not what I’m expecting.  But it is still beautiful.  Part of the beauty is the newness and difference and change…and part of it is the fact it will return again next year.  I caught myself wishing I would be here to see it golden again.

I was reminded of Ecclesiastes:

“There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under heaven:

a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot…

He has made everything beautiful in its time.

He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”

And then I was just thankful for the fact I even saw it golden in the first place.

Leave a Reply

