The Rabbit Room

10/02/2009

I made it to Oxford.  I went to The Eagle and Child Pub where the likes of C.S. Lewis and Tolkien used to sit and drink in a room called “The Rabbit Room”.

IMG_7241

I sat there, first with a group of German (maybe?) tourists.  Then they left.  Then I was….

Alone.

In the same room Lewis and Tolkien sat in.

IMG_7226

I sat looking out at the Oxford street.  My eyes filled with tears of awe and I could hardly contain my geeky grin.  I wrote a bit, and sipped my Ginger Bear Ale half pint and dedicated it to Malachi Foard Hunt, whom I knew was making his entrance to the world!

And the Oxford YHA is fantastic.  Stay there if you go to Oxford.

And then I went to see Josh Ritter.  Again.  Really fantastic.

Cambridge beats Oxford in beautiful old buildings though, hands down.IMG_7236

Leave a Reply

