The World Spins Madly On

12/26/2009

I watch the stars from my window sill
The whole world is moving and I’m standing still…
and the world spins madly on.

the weepies-

October 4, 2009

My mind pictures Charlotte in the heat of summer.  Green grass and shade giving trees, just as I left it.  I pressed pause and walked away.

Babies celebrated, engagements bestowed, moves away, leaves dropped.

People on pause do not pick up and move away while I’m gone.  Wait.  They do.

I realised these as I walked under Cambridge’s glorious Autumn canopy.  There is blessedness in enjoying a foreign city.  An autumn I may never experience again.  But there is a season I’m missing.  A season with joy and sorrow, hellos and goodbyes.  There are people I miss.  The ocean feels too big some days.

Even though I return in the season of winter, the epitome of death, life remains.  In friendships, in delayed celebrations, in tears finally shared.  Though things, trees, and people may look different, I will treasure them more fondly after walking in longing.


Leave a Reply

