to see a flower

07/25/2011

planned to pack and do other practical, necessary things seeing as though i’m leaving tomorrow. until breakfast, “hey jessica, do you have any classes? want to walk down to the o’keeffe museum?”

forget packing.

spent the morning with ms. o’keeffe and some other great gals and great artists.

 

 

 

 

i like the way o’keeffe saw and gave meaning the world, both nature and man-made.

“Nobody sees a flower, really, it is so small. We haven’t time – and to see takes time like to have a friend takes time.

If I could paint the flower exactly as I see it no one would see what I see because I would paint it small like the flower is small. So I said to myself – I’ll paint what I see – what the flower is to me but I’ll paint it big and they will be surprised into taking time to look at it – I will make even busy New Yorkers take time to see what I see of flowers.

…Well, I made you take time to look at what I saw and when you took time to really notice my flower you hung all your own associations with flowers on my flower and you write about my flower as if I think and see what you think and see of the flower – and I don’t.

i’m sad to leave. i know myself well enough to know i won’t begin to understand what happened this summer or how meaningful it was until i get in the car tomorrow. the thirty hour car trip should help. it will also help me come down from the mountaintop and ease back into the reality of my life… all the good, happy, sad, undone, yet to be done, needing to be done, and missing pieces.

o’keeffe’s words spoke to me, helping me realize i’ll try to explain this experience with other people and it will not translate. i have to be ok with knowing what i saw, felt, heard and lived.

 

 

Leave a Reply

